Audio Data Analysis and Signal Processing

The ADASP team (Audio Data Analysis and Signal Processing, formerly known as the AAO group) develops digital signal processing methods with applications to audio, music, multimodal and biomedical signals. Its activities range from theoretical work on machine learning for signal processing, signal models and sparse representations to computational optimization of algorithms.

Work is conducted on both a methodological level to develop new sound representations and models especially for musical signals on their application to practical problems. In particular, the group is interested in Adaptive methods for high resolution sinusoidal components tracking, sparse representations, Non-Negative Matrix factorization or hierarchical models and on their application to practical problems such as automatic indexing, compression or M/EEG signal processing. Source separation also appears to be at the heart of this research group with contributions at the methodological level and with applications in nearly all the individual research themes.

Besides this methodological axis, the research tackled by the group can be organized in three main themes :

  1. Machine listening and audio source separation:  The objective of this theme is to improve the capability of machines to analyse and interpret complex audio situations by developing specific digital signal processing methods. This is the main research theme of the group.
  2. Audio and multimodal signal processing:    The objective of this theme is first to develop novel generic models and approaches for audio signal representation and compression and second to automatically process multimodal data streams (segmentation, structuring,…).
  3. Biomedical signal analysis:  is dedicated to the analysis of biomedical signals, in particular electroencephalographic (EEG) and magnetoencephalographic (MEG).

The group maintains tight links with a number of academic partners  (Technical University of Berlin, Queen Mary Univeristy of London, Dublin University, ESPCI, IRCAM, INRIA-IRISA, INRIA-LORIA, INRIA-LORIA, CEA (Neurospin), INRIA-Parietal) and industrial prtners (Orange, RTL, INA, Audionamix, Arkamys, Parrot,. . .). These collaborations are often developed within national and international collaborative projects 

For more information, please check

We also propose a set of tools, software and datasets for data analysis, especially audio signal processing. Check the following link:

Audio, Acoustique et Ondes

Le groupe de recherche AAO (Audio, Acoustique et Ondes) développe des modèles et méthodes de traitement du signal avec application aux signaux audio, musicaux, multimodaux et biomédicaux.

Les travaux sont menés aussi bien sur le développement de nouvelles méthodes et modèles de représentation du signal (méthodes adaptatives d’estimation et suivi de sinusoïdes, représentations parcimonieuses, décompositions en matrices non-négatives,…) que sur leur application à des problèmes concrets (transcription musicale, compression, analyse des signaux EEG, indexation multimedia). La séparation de sources apparaît comme une activité centrale avec des contributions méthodologiques et plus appliquées dans quasiment tous les thèmes de recherche de notre groupe.

Conjointement à cet axe méthodologique, les travaux de recherche du groupe sont organisés en trois thèmes principaux:

  1. Séparation de sources audio et Apprentissage (Machine listening):  L’objectif de ce thème est d’améliorer les capacités d’analyse et d’interprétation d’une scène sonore complexe par une machine en développant des modèles et méthodes dédiés de traitement du signal.  C’est le principal thème du groupe.
  2. Traitement du signal audio et multimodal:    L’objectif de cet axe est d’une de développer de nouveaux modèles génériques pour la représentation et la compression des signaux audio et d’autre part d’analyser et interpréter des flux de données multimodales potentiellement hétérogènes (segmentation, structuration,…).
  3. Analyse des siganux biomédicaux:  ce thème est dédié à l’analyse de signaux biomédicaux et en particulier les signaux électroencéphalographiques (EEG) et magnétoencéphalographiques (MEG).

L’équipe entretient des collaborations étroites avec d’autres partenaires aussi bien académiques (Technical University of Berlin, Queen Mary Univeristy of London, Dublin University, ESPCI, IRCAM, INRIA-IRISA, INRIA-LORIA, CEA (Neurospin), INRIA-Parietal) qu’industriels (Orange, RTL, INA, Audionamix, Arkamys, Parrot,. . .). Ces collaborations sont en partie développées dans des projets nationaux ou internationaux.

Pour plus d’informations, consultez:

Nous proposons également un ensemble d’outils, logiciels et bases de données pour le traitement du signal audio. Si vous êtes intéressés, consultez: